• Search


We are super happy to welcome Asomvel to the family!

Formed in 1993 by guitarist Lenny Robinson and bassist/vocalist Jay-Jay Winter, ASOMVEL’s first drummer was ex-Cathedral/Acid Reign man Mark Wharton, but „about ten“ more came and went before the band recorded their first demo in 2001. After 2007’s Full Moon Dog 10″ the power trio managed to thrash out their raucous debut LP Kamikaze in 2009 to much acclaim, ASOMVEL firmly establishing themselves as underdog cult heroes of the UK HM underground. Barely a year later, however, the band was shaken to its core when
Jay-Jay Winter was killed in a road accident. Although a devastating tragedy, Lenny knew that the band had to continue in tribute to the determined spirit of their founding frontman: „ASOMVEL could’ve died with him, but I was never gonna let that happen,“ affirms the axeman. ASOMVEL headlined their own inaugural Full Moon Dog Festival in Bradford in 2011 in honour of their fallen comrade, and have shared the stage with the likes of Carcass, Anvil, Grand Magus, and Orange Goblin. Asked how the band has changed, Lenny is unequivocal: „The band hasn’t changed from the day we started it,“ he asserts. „It’s something me and Jay believed in strongly; never change…ever! It’s the downfall of a lotta bands, they think they have to grow musically for some reason, but they just end up out-clevering themselves.“ When Will Palmer started up Bad Omen Records in 2013, his formative ambition was to coax a new album out of ASOMVEL, sending them into the studio with producer James ‚Atko‘ Atkinson (Gentlemans Pistols) to record their second album, Knuckle Duster. The band are featured on the documentary DVD Madder Than A Full Moon Dog, and have been approached to write the music for a horror film starring Dee Snider, Calicoon; this will be produced by the legendary Grammy award-winning producer, Bob Kulick (Kiss, Alice Cooper, Motorhead, Meat Loaf). ASOMVEL’s track, ‘The Nightmare Ain’t Over’ is used in the opening credits of the 2017 movie, ‘Dead on Time’ starring Michael Madsen (Reservoir Dogs, Kill Bill, The Hateful Eight)